If Only the Wheels Could Read

Heard on the BBC World Service late last night: They’re making the motorways out of books now.  

Pulped books can be made into bitumen modifier, used in road surfaces for a variety of purposes including sound absorption.  It takes about 45,000 paperbacks per mile.  The recently constructed M6 toll road in the Midlands used up two and a half million pulped Mills & Boon romance novels (Americans, that’s similar to Harlequins), though any genre is clearly as suitable for road-building material as any other. 

Joe Moran, a professor of cultural history, has published this and other fascinating road-related information in On Roads: A Hidden History.  He made the subject sound fascinating in the radio interview. I’d love to read his book, but life is too short; I can’t imagine that I’ll ever get to it, not now that my to-be-read stack is large enough that it blocks my lazy lawyer bookcase, which now no longer rotates.  I actually have to stand up from my desk and move around to get to the books, a parlous state of affairs.  

And so I conclude that my new blog will require a “Many Books, Little Time” section, and marvel at the fact that the first books mentioned in this forum are Mills and Boons, when I’ve never read a single one.  The blog doesn’t officially open until August 1, but I wanted there to be more than a single entry when people come to call so I’m posting early; I’m sure something more worthy will present itself for comment before then.

I’m off now to a meeting of one of my writing groups, wondering whether my wheels will be rolling over something that I’d like to read, if only I had the time.

2 Comments

Filed under Many Books Little Time

2 responses to “If Only the Wheels Could Read

  1. There should be a really cool metaphor to be drawn here but I just can’t come up with it. Damn.

  2. M.F. Case

    Roads made out of books! It occurs to me that Jack Kerouac would probably have something to say about this.

Leave a Reply

